East African Community Free Trade Agreement

In addition to free trade among EAC members, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda have joined forces with other African Union members for the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA). AfCTFA was ratified on March 21, 2018 and creates a single market for Africa that will bring together more than one billion people and two trillion dollars. Intracontinental trade has experienced difficulties in the past, with only 10.2% of trade on the continent taking place in Africa in 2010. [13] Paul Kagame, Chairman of the African Union and President of Rwanda, writes: “Increasing intra-African trade does not mean doing less business with the rest of the world. On the contrary, if we negotiate more among ourselves, African companies will become larger, more specialized and more competitive internationally.